The Bride

Before the Dream

Close to falling asleep, I told Anna, “I’m curious what is your question for the night.” That was in reference to a story that I shared with her yesterday, in which a Ray Kurzweill was interviewed and he spoke of how the dreams of the night led to many of his inventions, by bringing solutions to questions he focused on before the sleep came.

After a little time of contemplation she responded, “It’s about the overwhelm, the constant, way too much to do that we are living in, which is not sustainable. What is the solution?”

The Dream

Somewhere in America, I’m sitting at a round IKEA table with 7 people, including my wife, my stepdaughter, her soon-to-be husband and his father. The bride’s glowing, almost supernatural beauty makes people speechless. The table is empty, waiting to be set, except a glass of Merlot in front of everybody. In front of me there’s also an old Macintosh keyboard, one of the first detachable ones, presumably connected to a computer that is not visible in the scene.

There’s a festive air in the room and also, positive tension filled with joyful expectations. We’re waiting for something to happen. The father says, “Well, I guess, we need a toast.” To my surprise, everybody looks at me. Few minutes pass that feel ages to me, then I slowly cut through my shyness and start to speak. “As you know, I’m not a man of speeches but writing.” To illustrate my point, I’m making a self-depreciative joke about having the keyboard with me even in this precious, Jewish family gathering.

Then the scene changes and I am in a large political meeting, where tempers are rising. Standing ovation meets a loud declaration: “We are not going to let Washington dictate us; we are going to create our own future.” I feel exalted, like swimming in this no-kidding dedication to regional liberty, as most people in the room. I know that I need to play some role in the process, but it’s not quite clear what exactly.

I’m an old man, not the instigator of the meeting, but my soul is on fire and my heart beats with the heart of the mostly youngish revolutionaries around me. Will I throw myself fully in their cause and let it absorb all my creative capacities? A part of me wants to say YES!!! Then, a wiser one, reminds me of my commitment to be a co-evolving mentor to as many evolutionary agents, in as many countries, as I can. The job of that second one would, of course, include the support of the regional commoners, but cannot allow to take over my life, as it would have in my younger ages. There’s a strong tension and wordless arguing between them… then serene calm; the wiser one won.

The Interpretation of the Dream

In the Talmud, the Shekinah, the feminine aspect of God is also the Sabbath Bride. In some traditions, the Shekinah – ‘the Indwelling’ – is the goddess of the future. Modern-day, feminist Judaism celebrates and talks about her, as the full reemergence of the Great Mother that manifests in “a harmonious and integrated future for all people.” It is that archetypal Bride, which connects the first and the second scene of my dream, when the personal, family gathering morphs into social scale of a political meeting.

The cathartic moment of the dream, which carries its teaching happened at the meeting, in the tension between the one that is ready to respond to all of life’s emerging and inspiring challenge and totally immerse in a revolutionary effervescence, on one hand; and the other one that sticks unwaveringly, with a laser-like focus, to what is his real work, the real meaning that guides the remainder of his Earthwalk, on the other hand.

The not-so-simple lesson learned that answers Anna’s question is this:

Being responsive the all meaningful opportunities that Life presents to us for growing and evolving is the credo of all evolutionaries, but it risks to lead to our demise, if it’s not tempered by a steady discernment of what is the main calling that we are uniquely here for, that only we can respond to. In the light of that kind of clarity, overwhelm dissolves.

This entry was posted in teaching dream. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Bride

  1. Helen says:

    Thanks for this George. Very touching and highly pertinent for me at the moment too!
    Helenx

Leave a Reply

